Home

Staying true to our monthly routine, Jill and I ventured out to Didsbury for the first time to see what all the fuss was about at The Lime Tree. I know, I know, it’s totally sad that I’ve lived in Manchester for four-and-a-half years and had never been to Didsbury before, but whatever, I’d always said I’d get round to it and now here I am – been there – so stop hitting me with all that bullshit like “OMG! I can’t believe you’ve never been to Didsbury! What have you been doing this whole time? Dude, you’ve gotta get out more…” Piss off man I can do without your whining. I reckon if I had a car I would have gone ages ago but I don’t which makes it a bit of a bitch to get to, plus I can be quite the lazy shit when I want. In actual fact the only reason we found ourselves in Didsbury was because Jill won a free night at the Didsbury House Hotel at her work Christmas party, so we made an event of it by going to a few bars and The Lime Tree as well. I suppose you can read into that and say that I’m not only a lazy shit but also a cheap bastard too… Well, considering Jill picked up the bill I’d say you’re not far off.

After we checked in we decided to walk to the restaurant, stopping for drinks along the way. I’ve been hearing for ages that Didisbury was really nice and worth checking out and to be honest the place had a good vibe to it. There were plenty of bars and restaurants by night and the following day the streets were buzzing with fresh food stands, butchers, cheese shops and all the rest – I could probably see myself enjoying life here. We stopped at a pub that’s not really worth mentioning and before we knew it we had a bottle of red wine sloshing around in our empty stomachs as we made our way to The Lime Tree.

I was fucken starving! Absolutely, fucken starving!

We’d been looking forward to this for a while now and so had already checked out the menu online. Having a good idea of what we wanted we wasted no time in ordering another bottle of wine with our food. Jill decided on the Whitby Bay crab and tomato salad to start and the Goosnargh duck breast and confit leg for her main, whilst I landed on the Seared king scallops to start and a Fillet of 21 day dry aged Cheshire beef as my main.

Seared King Scallops

Seared King Scallops

Whitby Bay crab and tomato salad

Whitby Bay crab and tomato salad

By the time the food came we were already half-pissed and I was close to picking the left-overs from the table next to us, but as plates of crab and scallops materialised we were glad we had near starved ourselves throughout the day. Without going into all the food-wank about bullshit “melting in my mouth”, the gear we got was tasty as fuck and we gobbled it down barely saying a word to each other – Jill left her grapefruit which I thought was a good move. I guess the bitterness of the grapefruit was supposed to be offset by the sweetness of the crab – not so sure.

Fillet of 21 day dry aged Cheshire beef

Fillet of 21 day dry aged Cheshire beef

Goosnargh duck breast and confit leg

Goosnargh duck breast and confit leg

The real star was the main. Jill’s duck was pink and delicious and my fillet was amazing – medium rare and accompanied by mushrooms, pepper sauce, a nice little onion marmalade thingy and some fat chips. You know how when you’re enjoying your meal so much that you don’t even want to share it? If Jill’s duck didn’t look so attractive I would have told her to “piss off and stay away from my beef woman!” We were so happy with the food so far we just had to try a dessert, so we decided on sharing a creme brûlée and again were not disappointed – I even tweeted to The Lime Tree that I wanted more whilst Jill licked the bowl 🙂

Creme Brûlée

Creme Brûlée

Creme Brûlée

By this time we were well and truly drunk on good food and flowing wine and were laughing out loud, imitating Manu and Pete from the Australian cooking series My Kitchen Rules – “It was melt in my mouth.” (Manu) “The flavours; WOW!” (Pete). We got addicted whilst in Sydney and have been keeping up with it.

All in all, we had a great night and thought the food was excellent. We’d happily go back but perhaps the only thing making us think twice would be the price tag – £80 for two entrees, two mains, a dessert and a bottle of wine is OK but not great, still, definitely recommended.

Leave a Reply

